History of the Center

The Centre of Molecular and Macromolecular Studies of Polish Academy of Sciences was created in 1972 on the basis of two research groups headed by the members of the Polish Academy of Sciences: Professor Jan Michalski (heteroorganic chemistry) and Professor Marian Kryszewski (polymer science).

Professor Jan Michalski, until his retirement in 1991, was the Director of the Centre. He was succeeded by the Professor Marian Mikołajczyk, who headed the Centre till the end of 2007.

In the years 2008 -2015, the Director of the Center was Professor Stanisław Słomkowski

In the years 2016 – 2023, the Director of the Center was Professor Marek Potrzebowski

Currently, from 2024, the position of the Director of the Center is being hold by Professor Arkadiusz Chworoś

Within more than 50 years of its existence, the Centre has developed from a relatively small laboratory into a fully grown research institute, employing about 180 people, of which over 140 are directly involved in research. The Centre belongs to the network of Polish Academy of Sciences research institutes.

According to the Statute, the Centre is managed by the Board of Directors and the Scientific Council. During years of existence, the following have been Chairmen of the Scientific Council: Prof. Maciej Wiewiórowski (1972-74, 1982-84), Prof. Jerzy Wróbel (1975-1981), Prof. Jerzy Ruciński (1981-83), Prof. Zygmunt Lasocki (1984-93), Mieczysław Mąkosza (1994-2010) and Prof Henryk Kozłowski (2011-2023). Currently, the Chairman of the Scientific Council is Prof. Piotr Paneth.


In 2022, the Center celebrated its 50th anniversary. Celebrations were broadcast by local television.

Podziel się

Recommended sites